Reviewsday: A Lovely Love’s Labour’s Won

Love’s Labour’s Won is the title of a play that a couple contemporaries of the bard included in listings of William Shakespeare’s plays. Some scholars consider it a lost play; others think it was one title used for a play we know by another name. The most likely candidate for that second scenario is Much Ado About Nothing.

In 2014, the Royal Shakespeare Company took that possibility and ran with it, staging back-to-back runs of Love’s Labour’s Lost and Love’s Labour’s Won/Much Ado About Nothing, using mostly the same sets and actors for both. I’ve already blogged about the first production (here), which I watched on DVD and loved, so I was anxious to watch the “sequel.”

Like its predecessor, Love’s Labour’s Won is a lovely production. Excellent staging, brilliant lighting (see what I did there?), inspired music, and fine acting (especially Michelle Terry as Beatrice, Edward Bennett as Benedick, and Nick Haverson as Dogberry).

The DVD (which I obtained from my local library) includes extra features, such as the director’s commentary, and interview with the music producer, Nigel Hess, and more. I highly recommend it–but then I have yet to be disappointed by an RSC production.

 

About writerhoss

I am a writer from southwestern Ohio, and a frequent speaker at churches, conferences, and retreats. My books include The Bard and the Bible (A Shakespeare Devotional).
This entry was posted in Performances, Plays and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

