Reviewsday: Sherlock Holmes and the Shakespeare Globe Murders

I’m not sure how I happened upon Sherlock Holmes and the Shakespeare Globe Murders, but I’m glad I did.

c922d00c2709d05ac70eca8351ab1160

Barry Day’s book is a light and entertaining pastiche combining one of my favorite fictional characters with my favorite poet and playwright, William Shakespeare. Well, not really Shakespeare, but his works–and a fictional nineteenth-century reconstruction of the Globe Theater in London.

Day does a fine job of recreating Holmes, Watson, and Victorian England. He is obviously well-informed on the Holmes oeuvre. The placement of the world’s greatest detective in a mystery involving the works of Shakespeare, the Elizabethan stage, the Globe, and more was absorbing and entertaining for me. And I loved the frequent injections of quotes from Shakespeare (and others). I was a bit disappointed at a few plot holes and that the resolution involved more theatrics than detection, but they detracted only a little from my enjoyment.

 

About writerhoss

I am a writer from southwestern Ohio, and a frequent speaker at churches, conferences, and retreats. My books include The Bard and the Bible (A Shakespeare Devotional).
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

