My 5 Favorite Parallels in The Bard and the Bible

My book, The Bard and the Bible: A Shakespeare Devotional, draws 365 daily reflections from a Shakespeare quote and a Bible verse from the King James Version (these two towering works of English literature were created in the same period and the same city, by people who undoubtedly knew each other).

I had such fun writing the book–maybe the most fun I’ve had writing any book. I continue to be fascinated by the parallels between Shakespeare and the Bible, not only in the language they use but also in what they choose to say.

The Bard and The Bard and the Bible

So I thought I’d take a moment to share five of my favorite correspondences from The Bard and the Bible: A Shakespeare Devotional

Smooth runs the water where the brook is deep (2 Henry VI, III, 1, 53);
Counsel in the heart of man is like deep water; but a man of understanding will draw it out (Proverbs 20:5 KJV).

You knew my father well, and in him me (The Taming of the Shrew, II, i, 116);
If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him (John 14:7 KJV).

They do not love that do not show their love (The Two Gentlemen of Verona, I, ii, 31);
My little children, let us not love in word, neither in tongue; but in deed and in truth (1 John 3:18 KJV).

How far that little candle throws his beams! So shines a good deed in a naughty world (The Merchant of Venice, V, i, 90);
Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven (Matthew 5:16 KJV).

The time of life is short; To spend that shortness basely were too long (1 Henry IV, V, ii, 81);
So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom (Psalm 90:12 KJV).

There are so many, it is insanely difficult to choose among them. But those will suffice for now.

 

About writerhoss

I am a writer from southwestern Ohio, and a frequent speaker at churches, conferences, and retreats. My books include The Bard and the Bible (A Shakespeare Devotional).
This entry was posted in Bard, Bible, Books, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My 5 Favorite Parallels in The Bard and the Bible

  1. Pingback: 7 More Favorite Parallels in The Bard and the Bible | The Bard and the Bible

Leave a Reply

