Reviewsday: The Handy-Volume Shakspeare

The book purchase of which I am proudest and have been most gratified by over the years? I’m so glad you asked.

img_7157

It is the thirteen-volume boxed “Handy-Volume Shakspeare” set, published by¬†George Routledge and Sons (of New York) around the 1880s.

I found this treasure a few years ago in a Hamilton, Ohio, used book shop that is now defunct. I think I paid $100 for the thirteen volumes with gilt lettering on the spine, which still feels like a steal. The pages are edged in gold and each volume is in great condition. The tiny set (each volume is 3″ x 4.75″) contains thirty-seven plays (no Henry VIII), and all the sonnets and poems! The case was missing the hinges and top half of the “lock,” but otherwise is in great shape.

I gave it pride of place on the bookshelf facing my desk and refer to it regularly, carefully, and lovingly.

About writerhoss

I am a writer from southwestern Ohio, and a frequent speaker at churches, conferences, and retreats. My books include The Bard and the Bible (A Shakespeare Devotional).
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

